Landmen, they seem to lie for a living

Here is an email I received from a local resident.  Please circulate. Printed with permission, (emphasis mine) it speaks for itself:

Dear Mr. Baldwin,
I had not taken too much interest in the natural gas drilling in our area until I was approached by two gentlemen on Saturday asking us to allow a pipeline for gas to go through our property.  They offered us $23 per linear foot, which would amount to about $20,000 to $25,000. They wanted a 50 foot right-of-way through our property on Upper Demunds Road.  They said they would return on Monday with the paper work to be signed.  After doing a little research, I realized this was something I did not want on my property.  I contacted my neighbors after having been told they were “receptive to the idea.” One neighbor had no idea about the drilling – he figured he may as well make some money if everyone else was.  My other neighbor had not been contacted and went through the roof when I told her about the plans.  We both agreed that we did not want our properties disturbed in any way, shape, or form.  I e-mailed the gas man, and he promptly replied and increased the offer to $30,000.  I answered that I was a coal miner’s granddaughter who had seen mine subsidences and strip mining rape Wyoming Valley.  I told him that no amount of money would change my mind.  He did not return to my property today.  I am sure someone on this road will grant them permission to cross their property, but I will fight them tooth and nail to preserve the pristine environment that I love so dearly.

Thanks for listening,
Emily Sallitt,
Upper Demunds Road, Dallas

5 Responses to Landmen, they seem to lie for a living

  1. Janine says:

    thank God there are people left who realize that value is not based in dollars.

  2. qazse says:

    Yes, a person willing to stand up for their values. The cynics say every one has their price. Not this woman and there are many more like her. We need to tell their stories. Thank you Emily Sallitt!

  3. Katie Sallitt Fallon says:

    My mom is awesome!! I’m so proud. =)

  4. qazse says:

    Katie, I am proud of her too! She is a woman of courage and conviction. Value talk is easy, until you have to live it. You are a fortunate daughter. Herb

  5. These landmen are worse than the worse used car salesmen. They try all types of pressure tactics, time limits, “everyone around you is leasing”, “you won’t get anything while we suck the gas from under your property”. Congratulations on not being fooled and sticking to your values. More people need to exercise this committment to values. Is the North Branch Land Trust committed to values or money? We will see.

Leave a Reply

